Select Page

Our Milestones

OUR MILESTONES

Milestone2019

Milestone2019

TTC signals its commitment to an expanded vision for lay training by renaming the “Centre for the Development of Christian Ministry” (CDCM) as “EQUIP: A TTC Lay-Training Institute” (English) and “Qicheng” (Chinese).

The College receives an endowment and establishes the Lee Huai Kwang Professorial Chair of Religious Education. This is the first professorial chair at TTC for a lecturer who teaches predominantly in Chinese.

TTC supports National Council of Churches of Singapore in the Celebration of Hope (COH) evangelistic events and the inaugural International Conference on Cohesive Societies (ICCS) to celebrate religious harmony as part of Singapore’s Bicentennial.

 

Milestone2018

Milestone2018

TTC marked 70 years of theological education with celebratory events organized throughout the year based on the anniversary theme, “Maturing as ‘Light of the World’”. Celebrations began in Feb with a concert, “Trinity Rhapsody” by the College choir, and a conference on “The Future of the Church in Singapore”.

A preaching symposium, “Light of the Word: A Preaching Symposium” was organized in March with tracks in English and Chinese. This was followed by a Chinese conference in April, “Chinese Churches and Chinese Worldwide”, and a seminar on spiritual formation in May, “Christian Spiritual Formation: Its Nature, Potential and Pitfalls”.

Celebrations continued in the second half of the year with an international theological symposium on the theme, “Salvation and Eschatology” in July, a heritage trail for local alumni in Sep, “After the Darkness..Lux Mundi: Alumni Heritage Trail”, and a similar trail for overseas alumni and friends of the College in early Oct.

The year of celebration climaxed on 5 Oct with a thanksgiving service held at the TTC Chapel in the morning, and the 70th Anniversary Dinner at the Orchid Country Club in the evening. Singapore’s Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security, Mr Teo Chee Hean was the Guest of Honour at the banquet which was attended by 1000 guests, including more than 200 alumni. DPM Teo expressed his appreciation for TTC’s contribution to nation building in his speech, “A Harmonious and United Singapore.”

Milestone2017

Milestone2017

TTC in partnership with the Institute of Bible and Theology (IBT) of the Evangelical Church of Vietnam (ECVN), successfully completed the training of 29 Vietnamese pastors, all of whom graduated with the Master of Ministry (MMin) degree. This special programme was offered off-site, and taught at the campus of IBT in Ho Chi Minh City.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed between TTC and the Nanyang Technological University’s (NTU) S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS). Under the MOU, the Studies in Inter-Religious Relations in Plural Societies (SRP) programme of the RSIS invites TTC to teach two modules for its MSc (Asian Studies) degree programme.

TTC offered spiritual direction to final year students from the Chinese department under the format of a spiritual retreat. This follows the well-received spiritual retreats in English offered to lay people since 2016.

 

Milestone2016

Milestone2016

TTC was established at a time when the founding denominations in Malaysia and Singapore were not yet separate entities. Malaysian denominations continued to be represented on the Board of Governors even after they restructured along national lines. In recent years, Malaysia’s Lutheran, Methodist and Presbyterian denominations decided to withdraw from the TTC Board in order to focus on the needs of their own seminaries. Therefore, the TTC Board of Governors is now fully Singaporean.

TTC’s commitment to equip lay people takes another step forward. It has begun offering Spiritual Guidance and Weekend Retreats to lay people to develop strong spiritual discipline. Four weekend retreats are offered annually.

Six seminaries together with Ethos co-organised a one-day conference on ‘Human Sexuality, Marriage and the Church’ at St Andrew’s Cathedral. This is the first joint effort of Singapore seminaries, the result of an initiative several years ago when TTC hosted a meeting of principals.

TTC and Biblical Graduate School of Theology (BGST) launched a joint Diploma in Theological Studies (DipTS). The DipTS is meant for Christians who desire strong foundations in the understanding of their faith. BGST and TTC strongly believe that a bigger pool of theologically trained people in the Church will result in establishing a much stronger and broader base for Church growth.

 

Milestone2015

Milestone2015

As Singapore celebrates SG50, TTC reflects on its development as a Singaporean theological institution. Its faculty members are now predominantly Singaporeans, and so are its student population and donor base.

TTC extends its contribution to the Association for Theological Education in South East Asia (ATESEA) through leadership in the Board of Trustees, the Senate and its publication, the Asia Journal of Theology. Beyond the region, it continues to partner key universities and seminaries in China and North America.

The monthly Faculty Colloquium has established an ethos of excellence at TTC. Lecturers are assigned to either present an academic paper or be a respondent to the paper. The colloquium encourages faculty members towards publication.

The Hill View Station (MRT) commences operation and brings much convenience to commuting students and visitors to TTC.

 

Milestone2014

Milestone2014

TTC in partnership with the National Council of Churches in Singapore and Bible Society of Singapore form the ETHOS Institute for Public Christianity, a think tank to assist the church in its witness in society.

TTC and Fudan University School of Philosophy sign an MOU for Religious Studies Exchange Programme. It aims to promote scholarly exchange on religious studies and better understanding of Christianity from an Asian perspective.

The Book Launch of a new book in Chinese held on campus, marks the beginning of future book launches of faculty publications.

 

Milestone2013

Milestone2013

Single language chapel services on Monday commences in the July academic year. On Wednesday and Friday bi-lingual chapel services in English and Chinese remain unchanged.

TTC’s Chinese faculty strengthens to 10 lecturers out of 23 full time faculty members. They celebrate TTC’s 65th Anniversary with a special anniversary publication: 《信仰心·当代情:三一神学院华文部讲师文集》 “Faithful Heart, Contemporary Reflection: Collected Essays of TTC Chinese Faculty”.

 

Milestone2012

Milestone2012

A student exchange programme with Wycliffe College, affiliated with the University of Toronto, commences on a trial basis.

TTC gathers younger women theologians and seminary teachers in Asia for a three-day meeting to explore ways they can encourage one another to reflect, teach, write and serve together long-term in the region.

TTC initiates and hosts the first fellowship of principals/presidents of six seminaries in Singapore.

 

Milestone2011

Milestone2011

Trinity Theological College and Nanjing Union Theological Seminary holds its first conference on Theological Education in Asia at TTC and plans for future collaboration.

The Inaugural TRINITY Lectures is launched. Experts in biblical studies and systematic theology are invited to deliver and publish these biennial lectures.

 

Milestone2010

Milestone2010

Construction of the MRT Downtown line has begun. The Hill View MRT Station, to be operational in 2016, is situated in front of TTC.

The Doctor of Ministry programme offered by Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University at TTC has commenced. This collaboration is the result of requests from alumni and pastors who wished to continue their personal and professional development.

 

Milestone2009

Milestone2009

A fourth financial endowment is received and is named the Bishop William F Oldham Professorial Chair of Old Testament.

TTC – Yale University Divinity School student exchange commences.

 

Milestone2008

Milestone2008

TTC celebrates its 60th Anniversary with public lectures, seminars, symposium, and a hymn festival.

It also receives a financial endowment and establishes the Chew Hock Hin Professorial Chair of Christian Doctrine.

 

Milestone2006

Milestone2006

Methodist School of Music and TTC jointly-offer the MTS in Worship & Liturgy and Church Music.

“Faith for Daily Living Series” booklets written by faculty members are published as a resource for the laity.

 

Milestone2005

Milestone2005

The Master of Theological Studies (MTS) degree is offered to promote the ministry of the laity in the public square.

 

 

Milestone2002

Milestone2002

The new Upper Bukit Timah Road campus is officially opened
His Excellency, S R Nathan, the President of Singapore is the Guest-of-Honour.

It receives two financial endowments and establishes the Chen Su Lan Professorial Chair of New Testament and the Earnest Lau Professorial Chair of Systematic Theology.

 

Milestone2001

Milestone2001

TTC moves to its new campus. The unique roof of the new chapel replicates the former Mt Sophia chapel built in 1969.

 

Milestone2000

Milestone2000

TTC’s School of Postgraduate Studies (SPS) offers the Doctor of Theology degree.

 

Milestone1999

Milestone1999

TTC locates a site at Upper Bukit Timah Road to build its new campus. Construction begins soon after a Ground-Breaking ceremony.

 

Milestone1997

Milestone1997

The Continuing Education Department is renamed the Centre for the Development of Christian Ministry (CDCM) and continues to offer non-degree courses for the laity.

 

Milestone1996

Milestone1996

The government acquires the Mount Sophia campus. TTC begins its search for a new campus.

 

Milestone1993

Milestone1993

TTC sets up the School of Postgraduate Studies to offer its own Master of Theology degree.

 

Milestone1991

Milestone1991

TTC receives its first student from China, the beginning of a partnership with the China Christian Council and the National Three-Self Patriotic Movement.

 

Milestone1982

Milestone1982

The Ministry of Education invites TTC to train school teachers to teach Bible Knowledge.

 

Milestone1978

Milestone1978

Continuing Education Department trains parish workers already in ministry.

 

Milestone1967

Milestone1967

TTC offers postgraduate degrees under the auspices of the Southeast Asia Graduate School of Theology (SEAGST).

 

Milestone1972

Milestone1972

The Trumpet, TTC’s newsletter, was launched. Our Chinese newsletter 角声 debuted a year later.

 

Milestone1954

Milestone1954

Trinity College is renamed Trinity Theological College (TTC).

 

Milestone1952

Milestone1952

The Chinese department is opened to meet the needs of Chinese-speaking churches.

 

Milestone1948

Milestone1948

Trinity College, the first seminary in Singapore is established and its campus is located at No. 7 Mt Sophia.

Select Page

三一史略

三一史略

2019 里程碑

2019 里程碑

三一神学院的“基督教事工发展中心”(Centre for the Development of Christian Ministry ,简称CDCM)更名为“启承——三一神学院信徒学院”(EQUIP: A TTC Lay-Training Institute),以此表达扩展培训平信徒这个异象的承诺。

学院获得捐赠基金,设立了李怀光宗教教育教授席位。这是授予三一神学院华文部讲师的首个教授席位。

三一神学院支持新加坡基督教全国教会理事会举行的“希望与你有约”布道大会,并参与首届社会和谐国际大会,欢庆宗教和谐,这是新加坡开埠两百周年的活动之一。

 

2018 里程碑

2018 里程碑

三一神学院欢庆兴办神学教育70年,以“世界之光,越照越明”为院庆主题,全年都安排了庆祝活动。庆祝活动始于2月份,有三一神学院诗班呈献的“三一颂赞之夜”音乐会,以及“新加坡教会的前景”讨论会。

3月份举行了“圣道之光”讲道研讨会,华语和英语分别同时进行。接着,4月份举行了“华文教会与华人世界”华语座谈会。5月份举行了探讨灵命塑造的英语讨论会“Christian Spiritual Formation: Its Nature, Potential and Pitfalls”(基督徒灵命塑造:其性质、潜能及缺陷)。

下半年继续进行的庆祝活动有:7月份举行的“Salvation and Eschatology”(救恩与末世论)英语研讨会;9月份,为本地校友举办的回顾之旅,以“走出黑暗……世界之光”为主题;10月初,为海外校友和各界人士再办一次同样的活动。

10月5日,长达一年的欢庆活动达到高潮。当天上午,在三一神学院礼拜堂举行了70周年感恩崇拜,傍晚在胡姬乡村俱乐部举行了70周年晚宴。晚宴的主宾是新加坡副总理兼国家安全统筹部长张志贤先生,出席的来宾约一千,校友就来了两百多位。张志贤副总理在其献词“和谐而团结的新加坡”中,感谢三一神学院为建国事业作出贡献。

2017 里程碑

2017 里程碑

三一神学院与越南福音派教会的胡志明市圣经神学院合作,越南29位教牧顺利完成培训课程,都获颁教牧硕士学位。这个特别课程是“远距离”课程,学员在胡志明市圣经神学院校园上课。

三一神学院与南洋理工大学的拉惹勒南国际关系研究院签署了谅解备忘录。根据这份备忘录,拉惹勒南国际关系研究院多元社会跨宗教关系学课程组邀请三一神学院在其理学硕士学位课程(亚洲研究)中讲授两个单元。

三一神学院以静修班的形式给予华文部毕业班同学灵命指导,是延续2016年以来,用英语为平信徒开办而广受欢迎的周末静修班的形式。

2016 里程碑

2016 里程碑

三一神学院创院时,马来西亚和新加坡各宗派尚未分家。马来西亚几个宗派即使随着国家发展而重组后,在三一神学院董事部里仍有代表席位。最近几年,马来西亚信义会,马来西亚卫理公会以及马来西亚长老会都决定退出本院董事部,以便专注于马来西亚教会的需要并支持当地的神学院。因此,现在的三一神学院董事全是新加坡公民。

三一神学院更进一步落实装备平信徒这个承诺,为平信徒开办周末静修班,让信徒受更扎实的属灵操练。静修班每年开办四次。

6所神学院与“思潮”基督教公共学术中心携手联办,在圣安德烈座堂举行全天的研讨会,主题为“性取向、婚姻 与教会”。这是新加坡众神学院破天荒共襄盛举,也是多年前三一神学院主动召集众神学院院长齐聚一堂的成果。

圣经神学研究院 (The Biblical Graduate School of Theology,简称BGST)与三一神学院携手开办神学研读文凭课程(DipTS)。无论想在职场上为基督作美好见证,或志在协助牧者带领教会,凡渴望有坚固根基来理解自己的信仰者,神学研读文凭课程就是为他们开办的。BGST和三一神学院坚信,教会里汇聚了更多受过神学训练的人,必能为教会奠定更坚固、更广阔的基础,使教会得以增长。

 

2015 里程碑

2015 里程碑

新加坡欢庆建国50周年之际,三一神学院显然已发展为新加坡人的神学院。如今,学院讲师绝大部分是新加坡人,学生和捐献者也都以新加坡人为主。

三一神学院在东南亚神学教育协会的理事会、评议会及出版刊物Asian Journal of Theology(暂译《亚洲神学期刊》)等事务担任领导工作,得以进一步为协会尽一分力。本区域之外,学院也与中国和北美的主要大学和神学院保持伙伴关系。

每月举行一次的讲师讨论会,确立了三一神学院精益求精的精神。众讲师都会轮流发表自己专业领域的学术论文,或回应当天发表的论文。讨论会还激励讲师日后把研究成果出版。

山景地铁站开始运作,同学和访客前来学院时更方便快捷了。

2014里程碑

2014里程碑

三一神学院、新加坡全国基督教理事会与新加坡圣经公会携手共创“思潮”基督教公共学术中心(ETHOS),作为协助教会在社会上作见证的智库。

三一神学院与复旦大学哲学学院签署了谅解备忘录,以期在宗教研究并从亚洲的角度进一步理解基督教这些方面促进学术交流。

首次在校园举行华文新书发布会,标志着今后众讲师出版新作时举行新书发布会之新开始。

 

2013里程碑

2013里程碑

自7月份新学年起,逢星期一的早祷会以单语举行。星期三和星期五的早祷会仍以中英双语进行。

三一神学院华文部讲师阵容已加强,23位全职讲师里,就有10位在华文部任教。他们为三一神学院65周年纪念特别出版了《信仰心·当代情:三一神学院华文部讲师文集》。

2012里程碑

2012里程碑

着手与附属多伦多大学的威克里夫学院试行交换学生计划。

三一神学院召集了亚洲年纪较轻、研究神学的女性和神学院的女讲师,探讨如何在反思、教学并写作这几方面彼此激发,使大家长期在亚洲同心事奉。

三一神学院发起并充当东道主,召集新加坡六所神学院院长举行第一次院长团契。

 

2011里程碑

2011里程碑

三一神学院与金陵协和神学院于三一校园召开首届亚洲神学教育研讨会,共商将来彼此合作的方案。

开办首届三一讲座。此讲座两年举行一次,圣经研究与系统神学专家受邀发表演讲,讲座内容刊行问世。

 

2010里程碑

2010里程碑

地铁滨海市区线的工程已经展开。预期于2015年启用的地铁山景站就位于三一神学院门前。

南卫理公会大学珀金斯神学院在三一校园开办的教牧学博士学位课程已经开始。许多校友和教牧都想不断提升个人及其专业水准,这项合作计划就是应他们的要求而达致的结果。

 

2009里程碑

2009里程碑

巴克路卫理公会礼拜堂设立阿尔汉会督旧约教授教席。

三一神学院与耶鲁大学神学院开始进行交换学生计划。

 

2008里程碑

2008里程碑

三一神学院欢庆60周年纪念,举办了好些公开讲座、研讨会、座谈会和圣乐节,还设立了第三个学术教席——周福兴基督教教义教席。

 

2006里程碑

2006里程碑

卫理音乐学院与三一神学院携手合办崇拜与礼仪,以及教会音乐两个神学研究硕士学位课程。

出版《每日信心丛书》,由讲师撰写,作为平信徒的属灵资源。

 

2005里程碑

2005里程碑

开办神学研究硕士课程以培训平信徒从事职场服事。

 

 

2002里程碑

2002里程碑

坐落在武吉知马路上段的新校园举行落成典礼,恭请新加坡总统阁下纳丹先生为贵宾。

设立陈树南新约教席和刘笃信系统神学教席这两个学术教席。

 

2001里程碑

2001里程碑

三一神学院迁至新校园。新礼拜堂独特的屋顶是按照苏菲亚山上建于1969年的旧礼拜堂复制的。

 

1999里程碑

1999里程碑

三一神学院觅得位处武吉知马路上段的新校址。举行动土仪式后不久即展开建筑工程。

 

1997里程碑

1997里程碑

延伸教育部门易名为基督教事工发展中心,继续为平信徒开办非学位课程。

 

1996里程碑

1996里程碑

政府征用坐落在苏菲亚山上的三一校园,三一开始物色新校址。

 

1993里程碑

三一神学院成立研究院,开办神学硕士课程。

 

1991里程碑

1991里程碑

三一神学院迎来了第一位从中国来的学生,开始与中国基督教协会和三自爱国运动建立伙伴关系。

 

1982里程碑

1982里程碑

应新加坡教育部邀请,培训在学校教导圣经知识的教师。

 

1967里程碑

1967里程碑

三一神学院获东南亚神学研究院支持,开办研究院学位课程。

 

1961里程碑

1961里程碑

中文学院通讯《角声》于1961年推出,而英文学院通讯 (Trumpet) 早一年(1960)年推出。

 

1948里程碑

1948里程碑

三一学院,新加坡第一所神学院正式成立,坐落于苏菲亚山门牌7号。